Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

dorothy must die

4 out of 5 stars.

I originally didn’t think I would like this one, just because the cover isn’t so great, but it is really good. It is just gritty enough and full of enough references to the original series to be really engaging. I love this world and the characters. Amy is pulled into the land of Oz to help deal with the tyrannical dictator Dorothy and her henchmen and enforcers, the Tin Man, Scarecrow, and the Cowardly Lion. She gets to join up with some of the former villains, both of the movie and books, to take down Dorothy and her regime. Having read a bunch of the original novels, I really loved picking out the more obscure references. I also loved the injection of some darkness into what I always found to be an overly saccharine storyline. The writing and the story flow well. I can’t wait to read the next one.

Leave a Reply

