Thursdays with the Crown by Jessica Day George

thursdays with the crown

2 out of 5 stars

I feel awful giving this book such a bad review because I have really enjoyed this author’s  other works (she has a couple of fairy tale rewrites which are quite good, and a series with dragons), but this series has just been going downhill for me. The first book was fairly average high fantasy meant for an elementary school audience, but the last one and this one just have not gripped me at all. The plots are too simple and any dramatic tension just comes across as a little fake. I was bored, and I do not like being bored. You can see the ending coming a mile away and the themes are a little too obvious. The characters do not have a lot of personality, not even one obvious defining characteristic (besides the guy with the really annoying accent). They are generic children going on a fairly generic adventure. I would give this one a pass if I were you and try Dragon Slippers by the same author instead.

Leave a Reply

