I Am Otter by Sam Garton

I am otter

4 out of 5 stars.

Since part of my job involves story times, I read a lot of children’s books. I will present some of my favourites on this blog.

This is a relatively new one that I couldn’t stop laughing at. It is a combination of funny writing and hilarious illustrations. An otter lives in a house with an otter keeper. The otter tends to get into mischief. One day, he decides to open a toast restaurant (in the kitchen), with his teddy bear as chef. Unfortunately, they make a huge mess and Otter is forced to fire his Teddy Bear and hire Giraffe instead. Otter keeper comes home to the mess (which is probably the best picture in the book) and Otter realizes that he has lost his Teddy Bear.

The illustrations are detailed and the facial expressions are wonderful. The writing made me giggle. I made a bunch of my coworkers read this. Please pick this one up if you want something funny. May be a bit long for the preschool crowd, better for kindergarten.

Leave a Reply

