The Shi! No One Tells You About Toddlers by Dawn Dais

the shit no one tells you about toddlers

2 out of 5 stars.

I received an ARC of this work.

I do have an interest in biographical works about young children so I decided to give this one a try. I have heard both good and bad things about the toddler years, and since one of my close friends just had a baby, I am also interested in seeing what the next couple of years have in store.

Most of my disappointment comes from the lack of content in this book. It is short, the chapters are just snippets, and none of the stories are very long or go into a lot of detail. This reads a lot more like an outline of a book than a finished book.

The idea behind this work is that there are a number of chapters, each with an amusing theme, like getting toddlers to eat or toilet training. The author complains or talks in general terms about the more universal experience, tells some anecdote from her life and then at the end of each chapter there are very small snippets from other mothers around the same theme. Very occasionally two professionals also add some more scientific explanation of some phenomena.

They (author and editor) just tried to pack in too many themes. The anecdotes are so short that I did not get a good glimpse of the day to day raising of a toddler. The ending pieces by other mothers added absolutely nothing of substance because they were only a couple of sentences. I very much enjoyed the input of the professionals, but they were only called upon a couple of times.

This was just too short and over too quickly for me to get anything out of this. There are some biographies/ comedies that I could recommend, but this would not be one of them.

Leave a Reply

