Ivory and Bone by Julie Eshbaugh

ivory and bone

2 out of 5 stars

I received an ARC of this work

If I am putting all my cards on the table, I will admit I only ever saw the cover before I added this to my to-read shelf. I just assumed that this was a YA fantasy. It is not. It turns out this work is a historical fantasy, set before recorded history. I did not expect that!

Kol’s small tribe has just been contacted by a neighbouring tribe that has some girls his age! This is an unusually big deal as people in their part of the world have become few and far between and Kol’s family has been worried about finding wives for him and his brothers. Kol feels attracted to Mya, but her group has some historical grudge against Kol’s. A third tribe shows up that also has girls and more information on the rivalry. Lo is a lot more friendly than Mya and is sure Mya’s family is to blame for the past hurts. Kol is torn over which girl he likes more and whose account of the past to trust.

This book didn’t really click with me. The plot was just so concentrated on which girl this guy would eventually end up with that any of the other material about tribes fighting and their history gets pushed to the background. The setting and historical details are minimal and also not really important to anything. This was a very common plot that could have been put in any time period and any location without changing it at all.

I did not find the agonizing over girls to be very exciting, but I didn’t enjoy the family feud plot line either. I actually found some of the details confusing and was left with the nagging suspicion that I had missed something important. What I did catch struck me as somewhat silly and an unlikely cause for the amount of fuss that was being made.

I don’t have very much to say about this book besides complaining how bland it was. Neither the characters, nor the world stuck out in any special way. I don’t think I will be giving this to anyone.

 

Leave a Reply

